Best Offers:


blog single post
Technology News

Beware! Google might delete your Gmail account



If you have a dormant Google account and you receive an email saying it’s getting deleted, don't be surprised. Google is likely to implement its new policy to shutdown dormant accounts of users.

The search engine giant is rolling out its new policy starting from June 1, 2021. The company plans to shut down accounts of users who have been inactive for over two years. Before shutting them down, Google will inform its users multiple times.

The new policy will shut down accounts that are either inactive or have exceeded their storage limit across Gmail, and Google Drive that includes Google Docs, Slides, Sheets, Forms, Drawings and Photos.

The policy will take effect from June 1, 2021. If you are inactive in one or more of these services for a period of 24 months, Google may delete the content in the product in which you are inactive.

For the accounts that have exceeded their storage limit for 2 years, Google will delete the content across Gmail, Drive and Photos.

Google has a service called 'Inactive Account Manager'. This service can help you identify and manage specific content. It also notifies a trusted contact if you stop using the Google Account for a certain period of time between 3 to 18 months.

The new two-year inactive policy will apply regardless of your settings in the inactive account manager. The only way to evade this is by using a simple trick of logging into your inactive accounts. It is recommended for users to periodically sign in to Gmail, Photos or Drive.